Why can't we all get along?

11 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

paconubbins

by paconubbins

Unless you count the 5 gallon tanks I had as a kid 30 years ago I'm new to the "sport" of keeping fish and I have a basic question. How much "Picking-On-The-New-Kid" is normal when introducing new fish to the tank? I set up a 37 gallon tank about 3 months ago. I started with 8 serpae Tetras, which have been happy and healthy since I brought them home about 2 months ago. This past weekend I introduced 3 small clown loaches and the tetras are not acting like the proper welcoming committee. They kind of let the loaches alone as long as the loaches are near the bottom and close to cover, however, if the loaches dare to swim mid-tank and away from cover they generate quite an interest and there's a bit of nipping at fins (tetra nipping at loach). I suspect this is somewhat normal but I'm not sure. Will the tetras eventually loose interest and at least tolerate the presence of someone new? My research said the Serpae Tetra can nip but are usually peaceful if kept in groups of 5 or more, have plenty of space and are well fed. I think I've given them what they want but they don't seem to be getting along.

dizzcat

by dizzcat

Welcome!

I got a group of Serpae Tetra's once (impulse buy) and within an hour they started terrorizing everything in my tank! And they were the new guys. I have a feeling it will be worse for you because they have been alone in the tank and claimed it. If you want other fish you may have to get rid of them.

a70m1c

by a70m1c

paconubbins

by paconubbins