Lots of questions in 1

8 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

tchavera

Lots of questions in 1

by tchavera

Alright, I just got a 12 gallon tank. I've read and read and I'm going to buy books tomorrow. I'm really interested in this and hope it's a hobby that fits me. So, I know that I need to cycle my water blablabla but I have a few questions:

1) Can I change my light bulb to a blue, would it be alright on the fish? (I haven't added fish yet)

2) When my tank is ready, should I add a "sucker" fish? If so, I don't want one growing a foot long, obviously because I have a 12 gallon tank.

3) When they say add plants, should I get REAL plants? If so, what kind?

4) Say I have to stick my hand in the water, is there special gloves I could use or something that wouldn't hurt the fish?

Sorry for a lot of questions at once, I'm new to this.. Also, if anyone wants to share anymore information offtopic, I would appreciate it. I would like to learn as much as I can! Thanks :)!

tchavera

by tchavera

oh, and should I fill it with spring water?

maydayparade

by maydayparade

Okay welcome to the hobby,

1. changing your light bulb to blue, I guese wouldnt matter. But it wont look natural, and it may bother the fish a bit. But I am pretty sure with gouramis they are fine with a different coloured light bulb. But if you wanted live plants, you can not have a blue light.

2. Depends what kind of "suckerfish" you want. I had siamese algae eaters in a 15 didnt grow over 2 inches. Or there are oto cats, which are like 1 inch at the most. Snails work well to, but you dont NEED one. They are just to control algae levels in your tank. But if you got live plants, yes one of those would be a good idea. (corydoras arent "sucker" fish but, are like mini catfish. Probably my favourite fish)