How much is to much?

8 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

darkruby

How much is to much?

by darkruby

They say that the rule of thumb is 1" of fish for every gallon. But that means you also have to include the adult size of the fish which, even though they might not reach the full length, means your limited to how many fish you CAN actually put in the aquarium. Is there any way I can put more than the suggested amount of fish?

spongebob4460

by spongebob4460

you can add more than the suggested amount if you add enough filteration to support the waste produced by the added load. But keep in mind, even when you have enough filteration, it won't mean your fish are happy being crowded, so weigh in the type of fish you have and if you can "crowd" them.

Zambize4899

by Zambize4899

I'm new to this hobby but have done a *great* deal of reading and one consistent thing I read is that the single most stressful experience for fish is overcrowding. I would suggest that if you want more fish, get a bigger tank.

darkruby

by darkruby

I have a Penguin 350 and it does a great filtration job! What if i put two on my tank, will that help or is it just a waste of money and I should just stick the minimum amount of fish?

Snowboss4492

by Snowboss4492