Fishless cycling

6 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

amix16

Fishless cycling

by amix16

I am new to the hobby and the site, and I have already been misled many times from many "experts" who have been telling me when it is fine to put fish in, etc... I have done a great a deal of research and I have decided to do fishless cycling. I have a 26 gallon tank with only gravel in it, and the tank is 1 week old. I am putting STABILITY in the water every day, which adds beneficial bacteria, and I have also used PRIME once. I am wondering if there is anything else that I need to put in the tank to be cycled properly or if stability is enough...How long is the cycling process if done this way? The ammonia level is at a constant 1ppm for 1 week, and my tests do not indicate traces of nitrite or nitrate. I don't know what to expect and at what times of the cycling process. Any help is greatly appreciated!

spongebob4460

by spongebob4460

I am not familiar with the product Stability... and i know there is a really good article on fishless cycle in the article section here. Also, it won't hurt to add food to the water as if you are feeding, this will help build your ammonia up to the point where beneficials can grow. You won't see nitrites for a few weeks, until your ammonia peaks, and this is short lived until you see nitrates... so give it some time. Many people here will give you great advice, just wait for them to chime in

miami754

by miami754