Manintaing tank temperature

17 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Sc0oB

by Sc0oB

hey im kinda of a new member, been reading on here for a long time but never registered. im kinda new to the whole fish thing. question my heater on my 33g tank has always been turned down as low as it can be but it seems like the water temp just keeps climbing. so i just unplug it and plug it back in after its dropped my tank not in direct sunlight whats the dilly? is this normal its a 150w heater that came with the tank.

Serial324556

by Serial324556

The heater is probably broken. If you turn it on not in water, or turn it on as soon as you put it in water without it "acclimating" to the temperature of the water first it can damage it.
The heater i have now in my 29 gallon is just like that but i haven't had the money to get a new one.
It's turned down all the way yet my tank is about 80 degrees all the time. It doesn't turn off until 80 so I can't go below that.

You might want to get a new one and let it sit in your fish tank for about 30 minutes before plugging it in. Then let it sit, most now come set up so they are already set on 78 i'm pretty sure. And be sure not to turn the temp dial more than a couple clicks at a time this can also damage a heater.

Sc0oB

by Sc0oB

thanks for the reply,that could be what happend but with a working heater should you atleast have to have it clicked up a couple of notches to keep it a 80? i just want to know this before i buy a new one incase its not broken and im just a schmuck.

spongebob4460

by spongebob4460

i personally keep my heater clicked at 72 to keep a stable temp of 78 in the tank. Also, how far away is the thermometer from the heater, and is it inside the tank or the kind that stick to the glass?

Sc0oB

by Sc0oB