Complete Newb in Need!

5 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

crazyjragon

Complete Newb in Need!

by crazyjragon

I am completely new to having a fish tank. I know nothing. I've been doing some research & came up with the fish I would like to choose from.

Attached is what I have so far. It's my boyfriends 10 gallon tank that hasn't been used in a while. Last thing we had in there was a turtle. I have since boiled everything & filled it last night. Tomorrow we are setting up the filter & getting other artificial plants. There will be a background, just not sure what we will get (lighter or darker)

The only room in the house to have the tank is the kitchen counter. I have considered one of my desks, but the only place is being taken up by a printer. I know the kitchen is an odd place, but it's what works & can be enjoyed most. I'd prefer the living room, but all our video games & TV's take up ever inch possible. Because of this, I don't know if Cory or Gouramis will work in the kitchen since it can be a bit noisy.

Please suggest the max amount I can have in whatever mixtures you believe best. Here are the fish I am looking at that work with a 10 gallon tank and the information I have gathered:

1. Dwarf Corydoras: 6.5-7.5pH, 5 to 19dH, 75-82temp, 1 to 2in
Eats: Catfish & shrimp pellets, Frozen, Live & Flake (Algae wafers)
Needs: Well planted, no less than 24in long tank. Sticks to Mid to Top. Scared of noise

2. Spakling Gouramis: 6 to 7pH, 5 to 19dH, 77-82temp, 1.5in
Eats: Algae-based flake food, tropical fish flakes, freeze-dried bloodworms, tubifex & bine shrimp
Needs: Peat filtration, heavily plant, leave minimum part of surface covered with floating plants. Sticks to Mid to Top. Need fresh air, air pump? Scared by loud noises, regular water changes

3. Neon Tetra: 5 to 7pH, 1 to 10dH, 68-74temp, 1.5-2in
Eats: Flakes, ganules, brine shrimp, tubifex or frozen foods - feed 2x day