Help, and questions

5 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

neonkiller

Help, and questions

by neonkiller

Hello guys, I am hoping someone can help me figure out why I am losing my neon tetras.

I have a 36 gallon tank, we got the tank on the 19th of February.
We added water, fish fakes, and stress coat tank starter stuff.

The pet store recommended not adding fish for 3 days, we waited 4. We added 4 neon tetras, 4 cherry barbs.

We lost 1 neon this weekend, and another when we got home from work tonight.

I have an API Freshwater master test kit, have been testing water regularly.

Our pH level started out at about 7.4, but over the course of 3 weeks has been rising .. now up to about 8.3 even with small 25% water changes once a week.

Our Ammonia levels are measuring about .25ppm, one reading before last water change was up higher at about .4ppm

Nitrites are staying low .. 0 to .25ppm

Nitrates have been 5-10ppm

Temperature is about 71 F

We did add "Bob the Janitor" last week .. a pleco ... the one spike in ammonia was likely due to him not cleaning up the algae tab.

2 Neon's have had funerals, and will be missed.

We have 2 plants, 1 giant hairgrass, 1 microsword.

Any advice is appreciated.

natalie265
Site Admin

by natalie265