New 55 Gallon Tank. Question about fish combos and plants.

7 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

lotus

by lotus

First off hi, I am new to fish but have been doing my homework. As a kid my grandpa was a fish fanatic. Hundreds of tanks and even more and bigger fish in various tanks/ponds in the backyard.

I just bought for our family a 55 gallon tank and we want a mixture of fish that get along and real plants.
I plan on doing a sand bottom and will have a vegetation area on the left, driftwood center piece that has hiding spots and holes in it (read how to make sure it is safe), and some river rock/slate hiding spots on the right. The wood/rock will be against the back to give plenty of swimming room.

Ok...onto my questions.
How does this mix of fish look compatibility wise and count wise for a 55 gallon tank. Also by breed should i have more or less of any one of them?
1 bristlenose pleco
2 Apisto
2 german ram
2 bolivian ram
8 flame tetra
10 neon tetra
2 red rainbow

And when the water is ready what order/length of time should i introduce the fish in?

And, what plants would you recommend? I was reading java fern would be nice for the drift wood. But I would like to make the left side sorta thick in vegetation for hiding and for looks.

Thanks for any advice you might have! I know there is a lot here I just want to make sure i have things covered to avoid a disaster.

lotus

by lotus

Still reading reading reading...my list of fish i think i would like is

2 yellow Apisto
2 German Ram
2 Bolivian Ram
8 Flame Tetra or other 2" tetra
10 Neon Tetra or other small tetra
2 rainbow cichlid which would be my only non dwarf
1 bristlenose pleco

how does that lineup sound?

I saw another guy mention this would be a good lineup for a 55 gallon planted tank.
6 severums
2 laetacara
1 Sturisoma barbatum
6 corydoras
6 med sized tetra
sounds like it a lot of large fish for a not so big tank.

yasherkoach

by yasherkoach