I'm a noob with lots of fish!

35 posts • Page 4 of 4

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

yasherkoach

by yasherkoach

funny thing about this whole thing is, these fish appear healthy in the tank so why take the fish out of the pond in the first place - this is what I don't understand

if the pond needed cleaning, then place a filtration system in it...don't mean to be rude or anything, but if you can explain why you took the fish out in the first place, maybe I'll understand it all.....a dirty pond or an unsightly pond may have looked that way to us humans, but if the fish were surviving for some time in the pond, why screw around with something that was just fine (((sometimes it's best to leave well enough alone)))

so could you explain this for me, I probably missed it at the beginning of the thread, so then just ignore me, but why take the fish out of the pond in the first place...thanks

Stampede

by Stampede

I'll try to explain the pond, but it's going to be tough with only words. Basically this thing was built on a slope in my backyard. The side of the pond furthest from the house is a cinder block, concrete, and rebar retaining wall. This enabled the builder to build up what he needed to get the depth he desired for the pond. The side closest to the house was only dug out of the dirt. The problem with this is that over the past 12 or so years the water running from the back of the house down the hill has completely eroded the "front" side of the pond. Water has not only been running into the pond from the house, but it has also been running under the liner into the hole. Once this process started there was no way to stop it, so the builder just started covering things with rock to try and divert the water.