I'm a noob with lots of fish!

35 posts • Page 3 of 4

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

esparzar1

by esparzar1

Good luck with everything, a lot of the information above is good stuff. But, again, being goldfish in the tank, I really think you will be okay. I once owned goldfish before I knew about cycling or anything like that, I did complete (100%) water changes each month with no problems. That big of a water change would kill most fish....except goldfish....lol

tekneb

by tekneb

I second esparzar's sentiments. Good luck with everything, and also make sure to keep us updated, since you got pretty much every active blogger on this site intruiged lol.

Stampede

by Stampede

I will definitely keep everyone updated. Tonight for phase one I'm going to shovel around 50 pounds of goldfish poop out of the pond. Then I'll remove the liner to inspect it and the hole itself....lord knows what I'll find down there. From there, if there is still some daylight, I might start digging. Should be fun! I'll take pics!

Stampede

by Stampede

Phase 1 :

Completely unsuccessful! Too little daylight, and way too much poo!

Tonight the wife and I will try to tag team the effort in the little time that she has before she leaves for work. We're basically gonna grab one end of the liner and try to roll all of the poo down the hill.....lol!
91d6c-Pond Poo2.jpg
926ce-Pond Poo.jpg

Stampede

by Stampede

Woooohooooo! I got the poo out. I basically had to use brute force to remove the liner, but I did get it done last night. The bad thing is that I'm going to have to start from scratch to rebuild this pond....after I demolish what the original owner did to put it up in the first place. At this point I'm committed, so onward and upward I shall go.
d4fc8-Pond Poo4.jpg
14bb7-Pond Poo3.jpg

Stampede

by Stampede

As a side note: