I'm a noob with lots of fish!

35 posts • Page 2 of 4

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

tekneb

by tekneb

The cycling process can be a bit daunting at first, but once you see it all laid out, its actually rather simple.
All animals produce ammonia as a waste product, usually its referred to as "pee" lol. Ammonia is extremely toxic and since fish live in the same area they pee in, some process has to occur to get rid of that ammonia. This is what we call "cycling your tank". First, your fish produce ammonia. Then, bacteria that occurs naturally in the wild starts to grow that eats the ammonia. Those bacteria turn the ammonia into nitrite (with an I) which is less dangerous then ammonia but still pretty toxic. Luckily, once your nitrite level goes up, a second bacteria starts to grow that eats that, and turns it into nitrate (with an A) which is still a toxic substance but far less potent then ammonia or nitrite. Nitrate levels are controlled through regular water changes, and can also be curbed by growing live plants.

Now, as for your driftwood, getting it to sink is very easy. You either soak it in a bucket of water till it sinks, or tie a rock to it, lol. One thing you should know about driftwood though (if you havent read about it already) is that it can turn your water a murky brown "tea" color. This happens when the natural tannins in the wood start leaking out. This will in no way harm your fish, but it just looks kinda nasty lol. You can avoid this by soaking the wood until it stops staining the water, or if the peice is small enough, boiling it for awhile. Hope this all helped :)

yasherkoach

by yasherkoach

tekneb said it very well...just want to add that with water changes and liquid test kits for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and ph, the cycling process will be complete