Thought's on Bio-Filtration ?

10 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

nicholas542

by nicholas542

Hey guys just wanted some input on my bio-filtration method i'm starting. I have two Marineland H.O.T. Magnum 250 Canister filters, and i'm now starting full bio-filtration. I have Rena Ceramic cylinders in one filter, and API Chem-Stars in the other canister. I'm using the Marineland foam sleeves to act as a pre filter to catch the large waste. How does this setup sound for a planted tank filter system ? I''m filtering 500 G.P.H. in a 38 gallon tank.

dream2reef

by dream2reef

in a tank that small with plants you really only need to turnover 2 or 3 times. But "they" say you can never have too much. But I believe your filter will deplete your plants? I'm sure someone can correct me. I'm pretty new to plants myself.

nicholas542

by nicholas542

how will it deplete my plants with bio don't you want as much benificial bacteria as possible ?

dream2reef

by dream2reef

Some circle of life thing I don't know.

stingraysrule

by stingraysrule

Well, I am not understanding what you speak of DTR.
But, I don't think you can ever have to much filtration in your water.
You CANNOT have any carbon in your filtration system.
That, I think, is what depletes the plants? Is that what you are saying?

nicholas542

by nicholas542

not running any carbon. stricktly bio

yasherkoach

by yasherkoach

I agree with stingray, the carbon, if part of the filter system, may deplete nutrients in the water column. BUt the system nicholas has set up is perfectly fine. And 500 gph is excellent. Kudos.