55 Gallon Amazon Planted Set up ---New Ground --Substrate???

5 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

cichlidpyro

by cichlidpyro

This is my first time setting up a planted tank. Currently the tank has been cycling for about a week. I have done african cichlids in the past, and am looking for a bit more of a challenge. I have been looking at different substrates, and am curious to hear other's opinions. I would like to do swords, anubius, etc. I would very much like to hear of any other plants that do well in soft acidic water. Please and thanks!

zambize

by zambize

I use Eco-complete in my planted tanks. It is specifically for plants and I really like the way it looks. It is black and looks very natural. You get it for less than $18 for 20lbs. right now on sale at either Drs. Foster and Smith or Petsolutions.com (I can't remember which one it is.)

Z

JB20High9473

by JB20High9473

I have heard of people laying a layer of the specifically designed plant substrate then going with sand and such over the top to save coin as well. I am considering this as a way to cut down on the costs. Any thoughts on this?

JB

yasherkoach

by yasherkoach

red clay or laterite under any top layer of sand, gravel, even peat moss is a must. The laterite (or first laterite) will last a very long time. It carries all the nutrients the plant roots will need to live off of in the first several months.

It is a little expensive, but it does help.And once it is laid under the gravel or what have you it remains there for th elife of the tank and never should be disrupted by vacuuming.

This is my take on this matter

Tmercier834747

by Tmercier834747

Just a quick note about anubias..they don't require substrate at all but instead thrive better when allowed to attach itself to rock or wood. They have a rhizome when takes nutrients directly out of flowing water.