I am a newb

31 posts • Page 1 of 4

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

jliddiard09

I am a newb

by jliddiard09

Can you guys go check out my pics on my profile and tell me what you think? It is my very first tank. Thanks

JB20High9473

by JB20High9473

Well one thing I can tell you, as I made the same mistake, is that having only one Tiger Barb is bad news. They get all aggressive. Also, just 2 neon tetras is kind of rough. They like to be in a school of 6 or more. Other then that what size is the tank? 20 gallon? I am also curious of what kind of filter you use. I ask because the recommendation for a 20 gallon is like 120 gal/hr on a filter and the petstore will gladly sell you one that does a little over half that.

I am new to this myself, so I am in no position to give good advice, but I have earned a few lumps so far that I can help with. :)

JB

jliddiard09

by jliddiard09

I only have a 10 galloon tank. I had three tigers, two die and i had four neons and two die

josmoloco

by josmoloco

Your tank is too small for those fish, a 20long or a 29 or a 30 would be much better. Tiger barbs and neons need to be in a school and are not the best tankmates for angles, as the barbs will nip the angles and the angles may eat the neons. Oh, natural gravel would be nicer. How often do you changr the water?

dizzcat

by dizzcat

Jos is right, the tank is way too small for what you have. The Angel will outgrow it and start to swim sideways (mine did that in a 20 gallon) and when your Kribs mature they are going to fight. In such a small tank the female will have no place to go when he starts to pick on her. Plus, they will pick on the Angel too when they get sexually mature. I would re-home them or get them a bigger tank if you want to keep them. Kribs get to be about 4" big and they will get too big for that tank. They also will probably get too aggressive for the tank mates if they pair up.

Just giving some advice you asked for :-)