Just got a 55 Gallon tank and need advice

12 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

esparzar1

by esparzar1

I'm so excited, just got my 55 gallon. I'm still a few months away from having it up and running but I need some ideas. I just bought some pool filter sand for the substrate. I'm still fairly new with fish keeping so I plan on keeping the tank and peaceful community tank. I would like to have a good mixture of fake and real plants. I really like the Amazon swords and ferns for the real plants. I also plan on putting some rocks (texas red rock) and driftwood. For fish this is what I'm looking at:
4-5 Corys (Panda's, Albino, and Peppered) still undecided
5-7 Rainbow Fish
6-8 Tetra's (still undecided about what kind) I would like some type of larger colorfull Tetra's....suggestions?
2 Bolivian Rams
2-4 Swordtails (neons possibly)
2-4 Otocinclus
and possibly a shark (either a bala or albino rainbow) but, I don't know if they would be too aggressive in the tank.

Would this be a good mix? I'm open for any and all suggestions.
Thanks

esparzar1

by esparzar1

One other question, the tank came with two "whisper filters" (one is a whisper 300 and the other is a whisper 20) Are these decent filters? I currently have an Emperor 400 in my 30 gallon and I absolutely love it. I'm think about getting one for the 55 but, I don't wanna spend unnecessary $$$$ if the Whispers are sufficient. Any thoughts????

benl1036

by benl1036

Id move the Emperor 400 to the 55 and the whisper 300 to the 30.

esparzar1

by esparzar1

I was thinking about that but, will it mess up the cycle in my 30 gallon?

dizzcat

by dizzcat

Most all the sharks will get aggressive as they grow. I have a Rainbow shark in with my aggressive African cichlids and he is just as aggressive as they are. Bala sharks get huge too. Other than that your list sounds fine. :-)