How do i do water changes

14 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

joshheatherc

by joshheatherc

I've been doing this for about 2 months and just did a 50% water change and replaced the ugly blue gravel that i had in my tank with black gravel. And to put it lightly it strssed the crap out of my fish, i lost 2 fish, a molly and a catfish and to make things worse my 9 in bala shark jumped out of the bucket that i put him in and busted his eye. Please can anyone give me a step by step way to do my monthly water changes. I NEED HELP,,,,, AHHHHHHHH!!!!!

vwfan79

by vwfan79

I do weekly water changes of 10-20% and a monthly 50%. I use a water bed drain/filler attachment on my sink w/ my gravel vac. Basically it screws onto your faucet and starts the siphon, then use the gravel vac to clean the substrate till you have emptied out the amount of water you want to change. Then theres a piece on the bottom that you twist and fill the tank back up. This is the easiest way I've found. You can obviously use a gravel vac and a bucket, it's just more work and takes longer. Even when I do my 50% changes my fish stay in the tank, I know yours had to come out to change your rocks, but I have never lost fish from transferring them during serious maintiance. Its alway less stressful on the fish to leave them in the tank and take out 50% of the water them to remove the fish from the tank.
hope this help.

Heres a pic of the waterbed drainer, I think you can get them at you lfs also
http://www.waterbed101.com/images/assyl3.jpg

burgerking

by burgerking

There are tons of ways you can do it. The one above, using a small bucket(or cup on small tanks) and scooping the water out into a larger bucket then pouring it down the sink, and some people have automatic changers(no clue how to set up).