compatibility of oscar with auratus

9 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

dinarian

by dinarian

am having 2 auratus and 4 tiger barbs in my tank is it ok to add oscars!! recently i saw few tiger oscars they were amazing is it ok to add them to the tank!! if yes is it ok to add 2 of them!!

my tank is not big and got good filtration

bigwillcast

by bigwillcast

no, I'm new to this. but the oscars will eat them most likely. and from what I know, oscars need big tanks.

a1k8t31524

by a1k8t31524

yes oscars het huge..... you need a min of 70 gal

dinarian

by dinarian

when they grow big am ready to change the tank!!

are they compatible with auratus

miami754

by miami754

No, you can't mix them. You are tryint to mix an African cichlid with a New World cichlid. These types of cichlids have very different requirements (diet, water parameters, etc.). Plus the oscar will grow much faster and soon make himself a little snack. If you are really going to upgrade your tank then make the new tank for an oscar and leave your current tank alone.

As a side note, how big are your auratus currently? Those are some mean fish (even when compared to other Africans - they can beat the crap out of alot of mbunas) so I can't imagine your barbs will last very long once the auratus reach sexual maturity. Just keep an eye on it.

Also having only 2 auratus is bad. One of two things will happen:

1) They are both male so the dominant one will just kill off the sub eventually.

2) One is a male and one is a female. In this case the male will chase the female until she is exhausted and dies.

You need to keep these aggressive African cichlids in ratios of one male per every 3-4 female so his chasing is spread out. Also, since you say your tank is small, the problem will be even worse. Please read the article I wrote in the articles section of this website about controlling cichlid aggression. It is a good intro to African cichlids.