Death of a frog

7 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

natalie265
Site Admin

Death of a frog

by natalie265

Does anyone have any experience w/African dwarf frogs? I had two and they both seemed happy and healthy, especially the one that just died! She would come out in the evenings and eat and swim around the tank. She was adorable! She seemed fine right up until yesterday evening when i found her pale and slightly bloated and floating near the top but still alive. This morning she was dead. My Ph hovers just above 7 and my water is on the hard side, temp 76 degrees, no nitrates. I can't find much about these little frogs on the internet.
4cb8f-000_0006.JPG

Tmercier834747

by Tmercier834747

Sorry about your loss.

I have no personal experience with them..but I did read a few things that -might- have had something to do with your problems..

How long did you have them?
What were you feeding them?
How frequently were you feeding them?
How tall is your tank and is your water all the way to the rim?

yasherkoach

by yasherkoach

I have had 2 experinces with african dwarf frogs:

first time I bought these guys, I bought 5 from Petsmart, within 2 weeks, all the frogs died. I thought it was on account the tank is too deep. A member on this web site suggested the frogs were ill. So I decided to purchase new frogs of this type from a trusted web site (aquaticplantdepot)

I bought 7 african dwarf frogs about 6 weeks ago, all the frogs are still alive and thriving.

first I must ask you, what type of food have you been giving them? I give frozen bloodworms, cyclops, brine shrimp, mysis shrimp, beetheart and tubifex worms. I constructed a plastic tube (from the python vacuum I never use) so I can feed the foods straight down to the bottom of the tank.

These frogs do not eat flake. They prefer frozen and live food, preferably any tyoe of worm.