starting a new 75g tank

21 posts • Page 1 of 3

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

adamcore

starting a new 75g tank

by adamcore

Currently I still have my 10g tank and finally the cloudiness subsided! Yesterday I went and picked up my new 75g tank, thankfully it came with the top and lights.

I would like some help with choosing a good filter and other products for the tank. Mind you though I am a college student so I need to find stuff that is not too expensive. I.E.; not the fluval canister filter that costs 219 dollars

I'm basically going to be setting up a semi-aggressive tank and thought that sand would be a good thing to start off with. Furthermore, having read some of the other posts, I saw that play box sand its a good choice that other people like so I thought I may give that a try.

I am used to using gravel and what not so some advice on how to keep the sand clean so that my fish don't die would be great.

But any help on setting up a good tank would be appreciated.

doomydarkdoom

by doomydarkdoom

I really like the Rena XP2. It's rated for 75, but I have it on a 55, so I don't know how well it actually performs when it's put to full capacity like that. Petco.com is usually selling them for around $120.00, and they occasionally run sales. If you print out the online price and take it into the store they will probably sell it to you at that price, so that way you can avoid shipping.

Check craigslist for people parting out their tanks... you might be able to pick up a good, used canister filter for cheaper. Usually a search of "aquarium" or "fish tank" produces quite a lot of people trying to get rid of their old tanks.

supertank

by supertank