New to keeping a fish tank

22 posts • Page 1 of 3

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

adamcore

by adamcore

Alright...so I have had my current fish tank for around 8 months. But I am still really new to keeping fish and was wondering what kinds of signs I really need to be looking out for and what I can do to keep a very healthy fish tank. Right now I have a 10 gallon fish tank and use two different filters. I have 6 fish and they all seem to be doing ok right now...but I always worry about them because I really don't want any of them to die. In all honestly I really know nothing except for the very basics and would love to hear feedback on what i can do to keep my little friends good to go.

(soon will be upgrading to a 75 tank)

gumbii

by gumbii

what kind of filters, and what kind of fish...?

adamcore

by adamcore

I have a smaller 3g bio filter which I used to use in my old small aquarium, and I also use a Sand shark which goes up to about 20g. I have two gourami's (sp?) a blue neon and another...cant remember the name. 2 dwarf platties...1 neon tetra, and another tetra...(dont remember the name...besides the two gouramis, all the fish were given to me) the 2nd tetra is black and gray(small) high dorsal fin, and a small rainbow shark

gumbii

by gumbii

well... usually you look out for wierd swiming, discoloration, and stuff growing on or around the fish itself... once you notice something wierd, just ask a forum what it is... picturesmake it way easier...

sounds like your filtration is pretty good... but when you get the 75 i would do a fishless cycle befor adding the other fish... go on google, and search for "fishless cycle" and read up on it...

adamcore

by adamcore